Three Science Students Honored as Outstanding Women Student Leaders

Release Date: 
Apr 23 2012

Seven faculty and staff and five students were honored as Outstanding IUPUI Woman Leaders at the Women’s Leadership Reception last month. Science majors Jessica Jackson, a senior in biology; Ashley Winfield, a senior in biology; and Fatoumata Bah, a junior in chemistry were among five students named as Outstanding Woman Student Leaders by the IUPUI Office of Student Involvement.

Executive Vice Chancellor Uday Sukhatme opened the event with welcoming remarks followed by a keynote address by Khaula Murtadha, associate vice chancellor for lifelong learning speaking on this year’s theme: “Women Education – Women’s Empowerment.” Chancellor Charles Bantz gave closing remarks.

This year’s Woman Faculty "veteran" award was made to Nancy M. Robertson, associate professor of history and philanthropic studies, and director of women’s studies program in the IU School of Liberal Arts. Two faculty members were honored in the Outstanding Woman Faculty “newcomer” category this year: Rhonda Henry Anthony, associate professor of English and African Studies, and director of the Olaniyan Scholars Program, IU School of Liberal Arts, and Melissa Ann Kacena, assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery.

Two Outstanding Woman Staff “veteran” awards were given this year to Mary Jane Brown, executive director, Center for Adult and Lifelong Learning, IUPUI Division of Continuing Studies and Pamela Su Perry, communications director, IU School of Medicine. The Outstanding Woman Staff “newcomer” award went to Dawn M. Whitehead, director of curriculum internationalization in the IUPUI Office of International Affairs.

This year’s 2012 Inspirational Woman award was presented to Amy Jones Richardson, assistant director of recruitment, retention, and academic services with the IU School of Liberal Arts. The IUPUI Inspirational Woman award recognizes a nominee whose dedication, service and generosity is beyond the call of duty and whose work and life story inspires us.

Nominations are solicited from the campus community and the awards are given annually by the Office for Women and the Office of Student Involvement as part of the Women’s History Month celebration.