Mathematical Sciences Awards Presented at the 40th Annual Honors Convocation

Release Date: 
May 13 2014

INDIANAPOLIS-- Dozens of School of Science students, faculty and staff were recognized during the 40th annual Honors Convocation, honoring scholarship winners and outstanding students across all science departments. The event was held April 12 in downtown Indianapolis.

Associate Dean Kathy Marrs, also an associate professor of biology, served as the mistress of ceremonies. Dean Simon Rhodes made opening remarks, noting that the annual event serves as a celebratory occasion to honor students, faculty, staff and donors in one place: “Without the concerted efforts and determination of all four groups, the School of Science would not be what it is today.”

View the list of school awards.

The following Mathematical Sciences awards were issued:

  • Yuri Abramovich Memorial Scholarships: Stacey A. Abshire, Mathematics, undergraduate; Ahmad B. Barhoumi, Mechanical Engineering, undergraduate; Samuel J. Roth, Mathematics, advanced graduate
  • Anna K. Suter Scholarships: Stacey A. Abshire, Mathematics; Simran S. Gurdasani, Mathematics; Olivia N. Smith, Mathematics
  • Outstanding Beginning Graduate Student Awards: Daniele Prada, Mathematics; Mengjie Zheng, Biostatistics
  • Outstanding Advanced Graduate Student Awards: Lucia Carichino, Mathematics; Joyce Jia Zhan, Biostatistics
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award: Amanda M. Harsy Ramsay, Mathematics
  • Outstanding Senior Actuarial Science Major Award: Ryan C. Bird, Mathematics
  • Outstanding Senior Applied Math Major Award: Patrick Burton, Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Outstanding Senior Math Education Major Award: Jordan A. Edwards, Mathematics Teaching
  • Outstanding Senior Pure Math Major Awards: Jeremiah A. Ayers, Mathematics; Jason S. Walsman, Mathematics, Biology, Environmental Science, and Physics
  • Outstanding Graduating Master’s Student in Statistics Program Award: Yuanfang Xu, Applied Statistics
  • Outstanding Math Assistance Center Mentor and Tutor Award: Josiah F. Baker, Mathematics
  • Math Major Spirit Awards: Holly M. Bolt, Mathematics Teaching; Sarah E. French, Mathematics
  • Bernie Morrel Full-Time Faculty Teaching Award: Julia C. Arciero, Ph.D.
  • Bernie Morrel Part-Time Faculty Teaching Award: Ivan J. Birrer II