Biology faculty member and chemistry student honored as IUPUI women leaders

Release Date: 
Jun 17 2016

A School of Science biology faculty member and a chemistry student were honored this spring at the 19th annual IUPUI Women's Leadership Awards program as the campus wrapped up Women's History Month with a celebration of the 2016 theme "Working to Form a More Perfect Union: Honoring Women in Public Service and Government." Women leaders 2016

Kathleen Marrs, School of Science, associate professor of biology, earned recognition as a veteran faculty member. Amna Sohail, bachelor of arts in chemistry, recieved a student award.

The celebration included a keynote address by Kristin Syvantek Garvey, the executive director of the Indiana Commission on Women.

In total, seven faculty, four staff and six students received recognition during the event, which took place in the Campus Center. Two of the awards celebrated "Inspirational Women"; this year's recipients were Karen Bravo of the IU Richard M. McKinney School of Law among faculty nominees and Merle Illg of the School of Liberal Arts for staff nominees.